My Top Ten Tear Jerkers: I Always Cry When…

My Top Ten Tear Jerkers: I Always Cry When….

My most wonderful, awesome Canadian friend (yes, that makes her almost as fantastic as New Englander just from farther away) posted this in her blog.

She is so marvelous that I just KNOW that she won’t be upset with me for having usurped it. (If I have to say I’m sorry, it will be very heartfelt –> but I don’t think this will be too much of a problem)

I want to add that I don’t agree with her on the Enterprise crash as a top ten tear jerker. I would give that position to The Outsiders every moment from Ponyboy cutting and coloring his “tuff, tuff hair” to Dally’s police assisted suicide…  I can’t even think, “let’s do it for Johnny.” without breaking down.

See, now I’m crying. Damn it. It’s not all that easy to stop once I start – but this is the glory of sad movies. We get to cry, laugh, get all riled up, whatever and it is okay.

Sometimes, when the need to emote gets too big for me to handle, Lifetime movie marathons are a blessing. When I cry during a movie – people don’t feel that awkward need to make things better. They know they will be better soon – maybe just a couple of scenes or so….

I feel like when I cry in real life – it doesn’t do much other than make the people with me to want to be elsewhere.

So, thank you sappy movies for being the perfect vessel to provide the opportunity to cry without embarrassment.

Love you (and Ponyboy – totally Ponyboy. Well, maybe a little TwoBit as well)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Top Ten Tear Jerkers: I Always Cry When…

  1. geekyg1rl says:

    I’ve never seen the Outsiders. Maybe we should have a movie night!

    • nenn1146 says:

      Totally – it was the vessel (1983) that launched the careers of Tom Cruise, EmelioEstevez, Charlie Sheen, Patrick Swayze, Rob Lowe, Jessica Lange, and C. Thomas Howell, Ralph Macchio had already had a tv history… massive awesomeness in movie form

Leave a Reply

