The Parking Lot Incident

I saw a great bumper sticker the other day.

It read, “Sure, you can have my handicapped space, as long as you take my MS with it.”

I thought it was a hoot. I want one that says they can have my handicapped space as long as they take my husband with it.

So, I had a conflict with a girl in line at Starbucks last week. I don’t know why it is so hard for me to simply keep my mouth shut – but when I see injustice, I need to do what I can to right it. (The boy child is the same way – gets him in trouble all the time at school.)

I did not have Honey with me – so I could not use the handicapped parking (both spaces were available) but had to park across the lot at Shipley’s (then, of course, I had to go get doughnuts before heading to get my coffee). As I was walking over to Starbucks, a young(er than me) woman came driving on in to the parking lot. In the time it had taken me to get my dozen doughnies no close in parking spaces had opened up so her options were pretty limited. It looked like she was gonna have to park by me.

But no, apparently she saw other options. Now mind you, she did not pull into a reserved for handicapped parking spot, but you know that chunk of parking lot with the yellow diagonal lines between the handicapped spots?  You know, the one that the people with chairs and walkers get out of the car into? Yeah – that spot… That’s where she parked.

Well – she was in a hurry. She scurried on in to the coffee shop right in front of me – I thought for sure she was just going to be giving something to someone and then leaving really quickly. But no, she got in line. I figured she must have called in an order (I didn’t know you could do that, but it made sense at the time) and was just going to quick get it and get going. But, no, she had a pretty complex order that she was in the middle of placing when my head just exploded. All. Over. The. Place.

I very nicely (and meekly) excused myself and asked if I could just tell her something right quick. When she replied in the positive I took it and ran. I thanked her for specifically choosing not to park in the handicapped space, and then proceeded to tell her that the spot she chose while NOT a reserved spot, she is still in handicapped space. Then I brought it home with, “My husband had brain surgery a month ago. If I had brought him here, sure we’d have a place to park, but I wouldn’t have a place to put his walker for him to get out of the damn car, because YOU chose to park in a non-spot rather than walk 10 yds.”

Her response initially was, “Look, I’m only going to be here for a little while.” Bad choice of retort because from there I went to, “You are going to be here at least as long as I am, and that is not the point. The point is that you are parked in a spot that is reserved for people who actually NEED it.” She then informed me that she didn’t want to argue with me about it; I told her I wasn’t arguing, but was just letting her know how her choices may affect others.

At this point, I was near to hyperventilating because I really, really do not like conflict – even if I don’t know the person – but I really, really had to go there – otherwise I would have held on to that anger for a while and nobody needed that.

After the woman moved around the counter to wait for her order, the lady behind me gave me a little pat on the shoulder and said she knew exactly where I was coming from and that her husband was in a walker following a stroke. I appreciated that she tried to comfort/console me, but I would have preferred it if she had stepped up when I was going on and on.

Anyway. That’s my story (and I’m sticking to it).

We are currently in the “inner waiting room” waiting on Honey’s oncologist to let us know what his new MRI is looking like and where we are going to go from here. (I think home is a likely place…. (silly)). Will update y’all when we know (and have processed) what the good doctor has to say.

Love you (but not conflict, so not conflict)

Leave a Reply

